top of page
  • Writer's pictureAdmin

2017 NSTSA Safety Excellence Award Recipients

The Nova Scotia Trucking Safety Association recently presented Safety Excellence Awards to this year’s industry safety champions at its 10th Annual Safety Awards luncheon in Dartmouth recently.

Our Safety Excellence Award recipients have demonstrated how they have positively influenced their company’s team. (CEO, supervisors, managers and workers). Each company is committed to doing whatever is necessary to ensure that everyone works safe including sub-contractors.

All Safety Excellence Award recipients are employed by companies who are “Safety Certified” by the Nova Scotia Trucking Safety Association and the Workers Compensation Board of Nova Scotia. Our membership has seen a 36% decrease in time lost from work due to workplace injuries in the past 6 years.

The Prevention Incentive Pilot Project where companies participating in the “Safety Certified Accreditation Program” were eligible for a rebate has returned over $1,000,000.00 to the industry in rebates between 2013 and 2016.

Professional Driver of the Year:

Hugh MacDonald


Small Business:

Heather & Brian Hatch


Workplace Health & Safety Committee:

Arnold Charron


Safety Champion:

John Maxner


Medium Business:

(L-R) Debbie Bond, Jesse Demont, Amanda & Chris Gwynne Timothy


Workplace Health & Safety Committee:

(L-R) John Eakin, Sandy Stark, Dan Crossley


Progress Achievement:

(L-R) Jack Thompson, Sherri McDowell, Doug Hiltz, Darryl Wood

Congratulations to our Safety Excellence Award recipients !


bottom of page